问题: 什么是 XpertScientific,你们提供哪些服务?

回答: 在 XpertScientific,我们提供两种服务:

  1. 为作者和出版商提供专业编辑和校对 科学文件,以及
  2. 科学咨询服务,例如 数值建模、项目管理、外展等


问题: 为什么要使用专业的编辑服务?

回答: 以英语为第二语言的作者会发现很难发表他们的作品。 许多科学合理的论文没有通过审查过程,或者在发表后很大程度上被科学界忽视,因为科学信息没有以足够清晰和简洁的方式传达。 即使以母语为母语,您也可能没有时间或经验来制作符合科学出版商严格标准的手稿。 我们可以帮助您消除错误、改进风格、逻辑流程和可读性,同时让您从所有这些繁琐的任务中解脱出来,例如检查手稿的风格一致性并确保它符合期刊的作者指南。 这不仅可以节省您宝贵的时间,还可以增加您发表手稿的机会。 此外,提高的可读性将确保您的信息与您的听众产生共鸣,从而为您的作品提供更多的引用。


问题: 您只编辑文章还是还编辑其他科学文档?

回答: 我们编辑范围广泛的文件,包括论文、报告、会议摘要/论文集、书籍章节等。


问题: 如果我的文档太大而无法通过电子邮件上传/发送怎么办?

回答: 在这种情况下,我们为您提供访问我们的 FTP 服务器的权限,您可以在其中将您的稿件上传到受密码保护的目录。 然后我们使用相同的目录将编辑后的手稿发回给您。


问题: 我可以向您发送什么样的文件格式?

回答: 我们通常使用 Microsoft Word (*.doc/*.docx),但也可以接受开放文档 (*.odt) 格式、富文本 (*.rtf) 文件或 PowerPoint (*.ppt/*.pptx) 演示文稿。


问题: 我可以给你发一个 LaTeX/PDF 文件吗?

回答: 虽然我们可以通过在 MS Word 中打开它们并使用“跟踪更改”功能来编辑 *.tex 文件,但由于以下几个原因不推荐这样做:(1)​​我们无法执行正确的字数统计; (2) 结果相当混乱,将明文复制粘贴回您的 tex 文件需要花费一些精力; (3) 因为我们需要同时读取 2 个文件(我们编辑的 *.tex 文件和我们用来实际查看文本的 PDF 文件),我们需要额外收费,因为与编辑普通的 Word 或 Open Office 文档相比,这对我们来说是更多的工作。类似的论点可以反对 PDF 文件的编辑,在这种情况下,只能使用相当麻烦的“便利贴”进行更改,然后您需要将其单独合并到您的发布软件中。因此,我们的建议是使用 PDF 到 WORD 转换器并上传转换后的 Word 文件(作为“主手稿”)和原始 PDF(作为“补充材料”)。


问题: 谁做编辑?

回答: 我们的编辑团队由具有自然/环境(生物)学术背景的科学专家(均拥有博士学位)组成 医学和社会科学。 所有团队成员在发表和编辑同行评议的论文、撰写和审查拨款提案等方面都拥有丰富的经验。在将编辑后的稿件退还给您之前,执行编辑或主编将对其进行质量检查。


问题: 你如何计算字数?

回答: 我们基本上计算您告诉我们为您编辑的所有内容。 在典型的手稿中,这将包括标题、摘要、关键词、正文、标题和致谢。 它通常不包括作者隶属关系和参考列表。 如果您希望明确排除手稿的某些部分或部分,则字数将相应减少。


问题: 这需要多长时间?

回答: 校对和编辑的周转时间取决于文档的长度。 对于短文档(字数 < 2500),周转时间从 3 天开始(或我们优先服务的 36 小时 - 30% 的附加费)。 输入你的文件字数后,实际时间将显示在稿件上传表上。它也会显示在包含我们的报价计算器的页面上。


问题: 它要花多少钱?

回答: 这取决于您手稿的大小(字数)、更正级别(标准编辑与高级编辑)以及您需要的其他服务类型(例如,参考资料检查、摘要写作等)。 请查阅我们的定价页面以获取服务和价格列表,或者您可以使用我们的报价计算器


问题: 我如何付款?

回答: 您可以在我们的付款页面(SSL 加密)使用您的信用卡/借记卡(包括 Google/Apple Pay 和一些本地付款方式,例如 Giropay 或 Bancontact,具体取决于您居住的国家/地区)或通过银行转帐( 我们在英国、西班牙、法国和德国都有银行账户)。


问题: 你能提供发票吗?

回答: 是的。


问题: 您的验收保证如何运作?

回答: 如果一篇文章经我们编辑后,仅仅因为英文不好而被期刊拒绝 (见这个问题,了解为什么会发生这种情况),我们将免费重新编辑该文章,并帮助你写一封反驳信给该期刊。这适用于符合下列条件的情况。:

  1. 我们编辑了整个稿件(包括图/表说明、补充材料等)。
  2. 当时手稿没有严重的语言问题,我们无法解决,并在页边注释中向您指出(例如,无法理解且无法编辑的句子或段落)
  3. 你确实接受了我们的所有修正,并按原样向期刊投稿,即没有做任何进一步的修改。


问题: 我需要把你放在致谢中吗?

回答: 大多数期刊要求完全披露对手稿做出贡献的任何人,这包括 XpertScientific 等编辑服务。 我们通常建议使用如下公式:"Editorial assistance, in the form of language editing and correction [plus add any other service you may have ordered, e.g., reference checking, abstract writing, formulating replies to reviewers, etc.], was provided by XpertScientific Editing and Consulting Services".


问题: 你们是否向来自发展中国家的作者提供任何折扣?

回答: 虽然我们知道对于来自发展中国家的作者我们的价格可能很高,但不幸的是我们不能提供任何折扣,因为我们的业务费用(编辑工资、管理费用、税收等)保持不变,无论我们的客户居住在哪个国家/地区。


问题: 为什么你比其他一些服务更贵?

回答: 如果你在其他地方看到的价格似乎好得不像真的,那么它们很可能就是真的。与我们的一些竞争者不同,我们既不雇用自动AI系统,也不雇用来自低收入国家的本科生来校对您的稿件。
我们所有的编辑都是经验丰富的学者,他们拥有来自备受赞誉的大学的博士学位,他们将花费必要的时间,不仅纠正简单的拼写和语法错误,而且更重要的是,改善逻辑流程、笨拙的措辞、词语选择和学术语气。这些类型的更正比较耗时,需要一个不仅了解科学,而且拥有必要经验和能力的编辑,以便能够在这个层面上提出改进建议。许多积极的客户推荐信表明,我们的方法是正确的。


问题: 你能提供编辑证书吗?

回答: 根据要求,我们很乐意为您提供免费的校对证书,以确认文件已经过我们的一位或多位专家编辑的校对和编辑。 当您将论文提交给学术期刊和出版商时,可以使用这些证书。 为了获得证书,请在您发送稿件给我们的同时简单地包含请求。


问题: 我可以向您发送任何科学学科领域的论文吗?

回答: 不可以。根据我们编辑团队的组成,我们只接受我们拥有必要专业知识的稿件。 这确保了我们的编辑工作符合您对我们期望的高专业标准。 我们有一个我们认为有资格编辑的科学主题领域的组合。 如有疑问,只需将您的稿件发送给我们,我们将在 24 小时内告诉您我们是否能够对其进行编辑。


问题: 编辑工作的典型流程是什么?

回答: 请查看我们的服务页面,了解我们在稿件中检查和更正内容的更详细说明。 该过程从您上传手稿为 MS Word 或 Open Office 文件开始,并告诉我们您需要哪些服务。 我们会在 24 小时内为您提供报价。 一旦我们收到报价付款,编辑过程就会立即开始。 我们使用“跟踪更改”功能进行更正。 此外,我们会在必要时使用“评论”功能提供额外的解释或建议。 这使您可以确切地知道更改的内容和原因,让您可以控制要接受或放弃哪些更改。


问题: 你们也提供翻译服务吗?

回答: 对于某些学科领域和语言,我们还可以提供翻译服务。 请使用我们常用的手稿上传表格上传您的文件,并在评论栏中注明您希望翻译该文件。 我们将在 24 小时内回复您并提供具体报价。


问题: 虽然我使用了你们的编辑服务,但在同行评审中我收到了一个评论,说稿件中的部分内容英语不好。为什么呢?

回答: 这种情况可能会发生,原因有很多。比如说。

  • 在原始手稿中,某些句子或段落可能不清晰或根本不可理解,這意味著我們無法猜測預期的含義,因此無法編輯它們。當這發生時,我們的編輯會留下邊距筆記,以引起您對這個特定句子或段落無法理解並需要在向期刊提交手稿之前修改/重寫的事實的注意。除非您向我們發送這些修改/重寫,讓我們檢查,否則在過程中可能會引入錯誤,這可能會在同行審查中引起負面評論。
  • 收到编辑好的稿件后,你意识到你忘记了一些东西,或者你需要修改一个图,因此修改了文本。如上所述,除非你把这些修改发给我们检查,否则你就有可能在文本中引入新的错误。
  • 另一种可能是对语言提出批评意见的同行评审者不是英语母语人士,因此可能没有资格评论您手稿中的语言。

在任何情况下,如果您收到此类评论并不理解为什么收到它们,只需将提交的手稿和评审者评论发送给我们,我们将尝试解决此情况(请参阅我们的接受保证)。

Q: What is XpertScientific and which services do you provide?

A: At XpertScientific, we provide two kinds of services:

  1. professional editing and proofreading for authors and publishers of scientific documents, and
  2. scientific consulting services such as numerical modelling, project management, outreach, etc.


Q: Why use a professional editing service?

A: Authors with English as a second language can find it difficult to get their work published. Many scientifically sound papers do not pass the review process, or are largely ignored by the scientific community upon publication, because the scientific message has not been communicated in a sufficiently clear and concise fashion. Even as a native speaker, you may lack the time or experience to produce a manuscript that conforms to the strict standards of scientific publishers. We can help eliminate errors, improve style, logical flow, and readability while relieving you of all those tedious tasks such as checking the manuscript for consistency in style and ensuring that it conforms to the Author Guidelines of the journal. This not only saves you valuable time but also increases your chances of getting your manuscript published. In addition, the improved readability will ensure that your message hits the mark with your audience which in turn provides you with more citations to your work.


Q: Do you only edit articles or also other scientific documents?

A: We edit a wide range of documents, including theses, reports, conference abstracts/proceedings, book chapters, etc.


Q: What if my document is too large to be uploaded/sent by email?

A: In this case, we provide you with access to our FTP server where you can upload your manuscript to a password protected directory. We then use the same directory to deliver the edited manuscript back to you.


Q: What kind of document formats can I send you?

A: We typically work with Microsoft Word (*.doc/*.docx) but can also accept Open Document (*.odt) formats, Rich Text (*.rtf) files, or PowerPoint (*.ppt/*.pptx) presentations.


Q: Can I send you a LaTeX/PDF file?

A: While we could edit *.tex files by opening them in MS Word and using the "track changes" feature, this is not recommended for a variety of reasons: (1) we cannot perform a proper word count, (2) the result is rather messy and will take you some effort to copy-paste the clear text back into your tex file, and (3) as we need to read 2 files at the same time (the tex file which we edit and the pdf file which we use to actually see what the text looks like), we would need to charge a little extra as it is more work for us compared to editing a normal Word or Open Office document. Similar arguments can be made against the editing of PDF files where changes can only be made using the rather cumbersome "sticky notes" which you then need to individually incorporate into your publishing software. So our recommendation is to use a PDFtoWORD converter and upload both the converted Word file (as "main manuscript") and the original PDF (as "supplementary material").


Q: Who does the editing?

A: Our editorial team is composed of scientific experts, all with academic backgrounds and PhDs in natural/environmental, (bio)medical, and social sciences. All team members possess extensive experience in publishing and editing peer reviewed papers, writing and reviewing grant proposals, etc. Before returning the edited manuscript to you, it will be quality-checked by the managing editor or the editor-in-chief.


Q: How do you calculate the word count?

A: We essentially count everything you tell us to edit for you. In a typical manuscript, this would include the title, abstract, keywords, main text, captions, and acknowledgements. It normally excludes the author affiliations and reference list. If you wish to explicitly exclude certain parts or sections of the manuscript, then the word count will be reduced accordingly.


Q: How long will it take?

A: The turnaround time for proofreading and editing depends on the length of your document. For short documents (word count < 2500) the turnaround time starts at 3 days (or 36 hours with our priority service - 30% surcharge). The actual time will be displayed on the manuscript upload form once you have entered the word count of your document. It is also shown on the page containing our quote calculator.


Q: How much will it cost?

A: This depends on the size of your manuscript (number of words), on the level of corrections (Standard vs Premium edit ), and on types of additional services you require (e.g., reference checking, abstract writing, etc.). Please consult our pricing page for a list of services and prices, or you may use our quote calculator.


Q: How do I pay?

A: You can make your payment either on our payments page (SSL encrypted) using your credit/debit card (includes Google/Apple Pay and some local payment methods such as Giropay or Bancontact depending on your country of residence) or by bank transfer (we have bank accounts in the UK, Spain, France and Germany).


Q: Can you provide an invoice?

A: Yes.


Q: How does your acceptance guarantee work?

A: If an article was edited by us and was rejected by a journal solely due to poor English (see this question for why this can happen), we will re-check the article free of charge and help you write a rebuttal letter to the journal. This applies if the following conditions are met:

  1. We edited the entire manuscript (incl. figure/table captions, supplementary material, etc.);
  2. The manuscript did not have any severe language issues that we were unable to resolve as pointed out to you in margin notes (e.g., sentences or paragraphs that were unintelligible and could not be edited);
  3. You accepted all our corrections and submitted the manuscript to the journal as is, i.e., without making any further modifications.


Q: Do I need to put you in the acknowledgements?

A: Most journals require full disclosure of anyone who has contributed to a manuscript and this includes an editing service such as XpertScientific. We typically recommend to use a formulation like: "Editorial assistance, in the form of language editing and correction [plus add any other service you may have ordered, e.g., reference checking, abstract writing, formulating replies to reviewers, etc.], was provided by XpertScientific Editing and Consulting Services".


Q: Do you offer any discount to authors from developing countries?

A: While we understand that our prices may be high for authors from developing countries, unfortunately we cannot offer any discounts as our business expenses (editor pay, overheads, taxes, etc.) remain the same, irrespective of the country of residence of our clients.


Q: How come you are more expensive than some of the other services?

A: If you have seen prices elsewhere that seem too good to be true, then they most likely are. Unlike some of our competition, we neither employ automated AI systems nor undergraduate students from low income countries to proofread your manuscript.
All our editors are experienced academics with PhD degrees from highly regarded universities who will take the time needed to correct not just simple spelling and grammatical errors, but, more importantly, improve logical flow, awkward phrasing, word choice, and academic tone. These types of corrections are more time consuming and require an editor who not only understands the science but who possesses the necessary experience and abilities to be able to suggest improvements at this level. The many positive client testimonials show that our approach is the right one.


Q: Can you provide an editing certificate?

A: Upon request, we are happy to provide you with a free proofreading certificate to confirm that a document has been proofread and edited by one or more of our expert editors. These certificates can be used when you submit your paper to academic journals and publishers. In order to obtain a certificate, please simply include the request at the same time you submit your manuscript to us.


Q: Can I send you papers from any scientific subject area?

A: No. Based on the composition of our editorial team, we only accept manuscripts for which we posses the necessary professional expertise. This ensures that our editing work meets the high professional standards that you expect from us. We have a portfolio of scientific subject areas that we feel qualified to edit. If in doubt, simply send us your manuscript and we will tell you within 24h whether we can edit it or not.


Q: What is the typical process for an editing job?

A: Please check our Service page for a more detailed explanation of what we check and correct in a manuscript. The process starts by you uploading your manuscript as a MS Word or Open Office file and telling us which services you require. Within 24h we provide you with a quote. Once we receive an official purchase order or advance payment of the quote, the editing process begins right away. Corrections are made using the "track changes" feature. In addition, we use the "comments" feature to provide additional explanations or suggestions where necessary. This allows you to know exactly what has been changed and why, leaving you in control of which changes you want to accept or discard.


Q: Do you also offer translation services?

A: For certain subject areas and languages, we may also be able to provide translation services. Please upload your document using our usual manuscript upload form and indicate in the comment field that you would like the document to be translated. Within 24h we will get back to you with a specific quote.


Q: Why do you levy a service charge?

A: Clients who work at French public institutions and wish to pay through their institution are subject to an additional service charge of currently €35 which reflects the additional amount of work required to handle these types of orders. Our ordering system has been specifically designed to automate and streamline the ordering process, thereby allowing us to offer competitive per-word editing prices. However, if a client is unable to use this automated system (as is the case with French public institutions), we need to process and handle the order manually which means more work for us. In particular, French public institutions tend to outsource part of their bureaucracy to suppliers like us, requiring the exchange of several emails (often in French), the filling out of forms (in French), obtaining bank certificates (for which our bank charges us a fee), registering on online portals to deposit our invoices, etc. We therefore need to charge a small fee to cover the additional time needed to handle these kinds of requests. We sincerely regret having to do this. If you have received a PDF quote that contains such a service charge and wish to remove it, you can do so by pre-paying your order with your own debit/credit card and then reclaiming the cost of your order from your institute yourself. Before paying, simply send us a short email to let us know that you wish to prepay the order and we will remove the service charge from your quote. Thank you for your understanding.


Q: Despite using your editing service, I received a comment during peer review that parts of the manuscript had poor English. Why?

A: This can happen for a number of reasons. For instance:

  • In the original manuscript, particular sentences or paragraphs may have been unclear or outright incomprehensible, which means that we were unable to guess the intended meaning and therefore unable to edit them. When this happens, our editors leave a margin note to draw your attention to the fact that this particular sentence or paragraph was unintelligible and needs revising/rewriting prior to submitting the manuscript to the journal. Unless you send us those revisions/rewrites to have them checked, it is possible that errors are introduced in the process, which may prompt negative comments during peer review.
  • After receiving the edited manuscript, you discover that you forgot to mention something or that you need to change a figure and therefore amend the text. As above, unless you send us those modifications to have them checked, you run the risk of introducing new mistakes to the text.
  • Another possibility is that the peer-reviewer who made the critical comments about the language is not a native English speaker, and may therefore not be qualified to critique the language in your manuscript.

In any case, if you receive such comments and do not understand why you have received them, simply send us both the submitted manuscript and the reviewer comments and we will try to resolve the situation (see our acceptance guarantee).